Celebrations and Rest

So there’s  been a gap in posting, but I’m not going to make a deal out of it again.  I had hoped to have several posts lined up and scheduled before I went on vacation but just didn’t get that done.  I thought I might have some writing time on vacation, but that didn’t happen either.  But it was a nice, restful time where I completely unplugged from work and most of life, and spent some great time away with my wife.

Speaking of the wife, Thursday we celebrated 21 years of marriage.  For TC, this is the first anniversary where she’s been married longer than she was single.  I’ve got a few more years on that one, but it’s kind of cool that she’s put up with me that long.  We had a nice quiet evening with the children at home and I cooked a nice meal and we watched the Cubs whoop it up on the Reds.  I love to cook, and we’d eaten out a lot on our #miamivacay16 trip, and so it was fun to make a nice meal of steaks and fresh vegetables from our co-op order, including some roasted beets (a favorite of my bride) and enjoy the baseball game.

Did I say Miami?  Yes I did.  We spent a long weekend there courtesy of Hilton HHonors points, frequent flyer miles and some savings.  It was amazing…and I can’t wait to go back.  I’d like to have some more Spanish under my belt before then though.  I completely unplugged..no work email or thinking about work for 5 days.  After the push to finish a couple of big projects before I left it was so nice to be out of touch for a while, and I was able to go back to work on Friday refreshed.

Work is a good thing.  I love my job.  One of the ways I keep that love burning, though, is getting away just often enough to get some rest, breathe, and rejuvenated enough to throw myself back in.  I could go on and on about what we did while on vacay, but I’d rather go on about my marriage.

As of last Thursday it’s been 21 years.  Some of them haven’t been fantastic, but since about year 7 every one has gotten better than the previous one.  When I travel, no matter where I go, I want her along.  She’s my soulmate and my favorite companion.  Every experience is better with her along.  She sees things so much clearer than I do most of the time.  Her perspective always makes mine better.  And she likes me, which is in itself a feat.

I’ll be returning to the things God hates posts again this Thursday, and we’ll get into some less rambling posts as well.  But take some time to rest and celebrate when it’s appropriate.  You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

