Writer Blocking

When I restarted blogging I thought it would be easy to step back into the habit of blogging regularly and posting 2-3 times per week. Obviously that didn’t happen.

The big part of the problem is that I didn’t go back through and update my 168 hours and plan time for writing and research. And so it was hard to “find time” to do it.

So this past Friday night while I was playing “soccer dad” and dropping children off at separate parties near the old ‘hood I stopped in at some of my old haunts and did some writing. I stopped by Blue and watched our local artist/activist on TV (see story here about her beautiful Mural) and grabbed a sandwich and then I was off to my favorite study haunt from when I was in school: Broken Tree Coffee.

It was nice.

I was able to focus for a while without interuptions.

And now I have some blog posts done. I needed to find a block of time where I would write and work through the topics and reading and whatnot so that my brain could get thoughts down into draft posts.

I was also able to look at the time budget for a little bit and try to figure out when I’ll be writing. I’m still working on that, of course, because my schedule is not as rigid as it had to be when I was in school.

Going back to old haunts where I was used to being creative can be really helpful. And taking time away from the normal routines to give my brain some margin to creat.

And that’s what’s needed to write. Blocking time out so my brain can create. And that’s what I’m going to try to do. And today, I’m optimistic it’ll happen.

Leave a Reply

