Rainstorms and Prayers

A few months ago, I woke up early in the morning and didn’t want to get up. I was supposed to go to the gym end didn’t want to. I wanted to sleep. To be lazy. To avoid improving my life really. So I wrote the following:


I think the gym became an example or an analogy of me. I’m overweight. I get winded walking up two flights of steps or up my driveway to get the trash cans. My body is woefully out of shape and I know what it needs: better eating and exercise.

Yet I eat junk and avoid doing anything active.

I didn’t go back to sleep.

It might have been the rainstorm. I love ( when there’s no water getting in the house) the sound of a storm. The powerful thunder, the rain pattering on the roof and the yard and the driveway like a beautiful chord accompanied by the percussion section of a drum corps.

And so for some reason even though I could barely see the screen through tired eyes I knew I needed to write–to write about the power of God and the weakness of me.

That same week I had preached a message to our staff on prayer and anxiety. From Philippians 4:6-7:

do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:6-7 ESV  – Bible Gateway

And today? I feel like a hypocrite because I’m fretting and dwelling on life’s issues and not praying. Not giving thanks. And therefore not finding peace.

The funny thing about hypocrisy? There’s always a choice to set it aside. And so I will right now stop what I’m doing and let my requests flow to God’s ears….with the symphony of the thunderstorm as the oh so appropriate background track.

Leave a Reply

