Recovery Period

Until yesterday, It’d been months since I posted on the blog. Literally. And as I said there It’s time for me to start entering back into the world again: posting to social media, writing for the blog, taking my work at Samaritan to the next level.

That starts now. The recovery period, and it’s accompanying denials of readiness for the next phase, is over.

If you do something insane like go back to school with a big family, plan for a recovery period at the end. I’ve spent the past 9 months trying to regroup a bit, reconnect with my family, and to rest. I took a long getaway with my wife where we went to San Francisco to celebrate our 20th anniversary, and we’ve already got one for next month on the planner to head to the Baja region of Mexico.

Over the past few months I’ve slept more. I watched a lot of Netflix/Prime videos and movies. I’ve played games with my kids and picked up household chores that I wasn’t doing while I was at school. We moved to a new house and have taken our sweet time getting our old house ready to rent.

We didn’t make anything a “pressing item.”

And that’s part of recovery. Margin. Lots of it. So much that paying two mortgage payments or throwing away 100 hours on several seasons of an old TV show won’t cause you to go broke or lose important tasks. And that’s what it’s been like. A lot of laziness. A lot of rest. A lot of mengana days.

I’m thankful for the recovery period, and I can’t recommend enough that you plan for your mid-stream change to have one too. It doesn’t need to be 10 months, but make sure it’s there. Otherwise you’ll burn yourself out. The mid-life change takes a lot out of you, and you need to be prepared for the ensuing collapse.

/recoveryperiod

#startthenextthing

Leave a Reply

