Leaving on a Jet Plane….

So I’m in Chicago now and trying to relax and rest so that I’ll be able to stay up through the flight. I leave the international terminal (#5) at O’Hare at 6pm tonight, and I have a short-ish (for a flight this long) layover in London.

The goal is to stay up for the entire flight so that I can crash when I land in Delhi and minimize the jet lag. I’ll let you all know how I do.  I didn’t sleep well last night, so it seem unlikely that I’ll be able to pull it off, but we’ll see.  At the very least I need to land in New Delhi exhausted so I can sleep and get up for church on Sunday.

I had a great last day with Theresa yesterday. Much needed time with her before I take off today, and we’ll have lunch today together before she drops me at O’Hare.

And I ate beef. No beef in India. I had a burger for lunch and steak at dinner (one of our favorite places to go…Seasons 52) and I plan to get a Portillo’s Italian Beef for lunch today.

I’m nervous about whether I’ll remember to take pictures on the trip. I don’t take lots of them but it’s important to me to have a record of this experience so I’m wanting lots of pictures. Some of them you’ll see here.

I’m packed up and ready to roll. Only a few more hours and I’ll be at O’Hare going through security for my first international flight in decades.

Kid brag here:  Toby and Elsie wrote and recorded this song for me as a going away present.  Love those guys and their creativity.

Oh…and somebody remind me to take my malaria pill everyday, ok?

 

Leave a Reply

