Arrival Time Shock (India Guest Post #4)

Another Guest post, this one from my friend Dawn, as we get ready to go!  I’ve been getting enough guest posts from my friends that I’m posting multiple ones today.  

Yay!  It’s almost here.  The excitement hit me when I saw Dr.  Raj Iyer’s email confirming our arrival times.  We’re going to India!

I haven’t traveled internationally besides Mexico and Jamaica since 2003.  I can’t wait to immerse myself in a completely different culture.  I’m going to jump in with both feet.  Will I get “sick” trying new foods?  Probably. I’m a native New Orleanian who loves great flavors and spicy food that don’t always love me. So I’m bringing Imodium.  However, when gaze on the Taj Mahal, one of the world’s greatest wonders – who cares!

Leaving New Orleans for college was my first cultural experience at 17, moving to NY was my second.  Prior to 2003, I travelled to Japan, Great Britain, France, Italy, Germany, Spain, Belgium, Scotland, The Czech Republic, and China – all remarkable experiences.  Moving from NJ to Ireland was an amazing cultural exchange.  Life’s journeys, including marriage, brought me to my new home, Peoria, IL. And, proudly, a part of the journey has brought to Bradley University’s Theresa Falcon Executive MBA program.

So,  India, BRING IT ON BABY!   I’m looking forward to greeting each of you with Joy and God’s grace.

dawnDawn Harris Jeffries is a local financial advisor with Merrill Lynch.  

Leave a Reply

