Bleeding Purple

A few years ago UPS had an advertising campaign where they tried to brand themselves with their color: brown. It worked better than I would have thought and I’ve remembered it and truth be told if you see a big brown truck driving around in your town or city you know it’s UPS long before you see the logo.

Samaritan Ministries rebranded ourselves a decade or so ago with the color purple. Some people here still haven’t fallen in love with it, but it’s better than brown, right?

So this morning I addressed our largest department’s monthly all-hands meeting talking about our core values. I could almost do this presentation in my sleep (and considering I was up late last night making calls to India that’s a good thing). I love my job and where I work and am thankful for this privilege. And here’s why:

I cannot express how much of a blessing Samaritan Ministries has been. From the initial phone call starting my need through the process of paying my bills, Samaritan and the members prayed for me and stayed with me. Watching friends and family go through similar medical events and having to deal with insurance companies made my need process seem so easy. All of my bills are 100 percent paid in full, shortly after my surgery. I had concerns about dealing with the bills, but Samaritan made it so simple and straightforward. I am telling all my friends and family about SMI, and they are amazed at the simplicity of your program. I recommend it to everyone!

via Testimonies – Samaritan Ministries International.

We change people’s lives and fill a need. Our members are the greatest people and they not only stay with us, but write letters like that one to encourage us in our work. And if you cut open my arm right now my blood won’t be red…it’s purple. And it’s not only a great place to work…it’s a mission I’m putting my life behind as long as they’ll have me.

Leave a Reply

