Is it Really September Already?

Whenever Labor Day is on a Monday or Tuesday it always feels like September sneaks up on me. And this was that rare August where we had 5 Fridays and 5 Sundays (5 Saturdays too but only someone who needs to fill in incomplete data would have to tell you that).

I have to turn in three homework assignments tonight. They’re pretty much done, but I want to look them over more tonight before I email them to the instructors. And then I’m done with Managing Technology and Interactive Technology and just awaiting grades. The assignments were well designed to drive home what we learned in the technology modules. As an added bonus they were designed to be useful in our “day jobs” and they’ll have value well beyond the grade and the coursework.

95 days left. And three classes once I’ve turned these assignments in. Hard to believe at times that I’ve made it this far. Just over three months and I’m done. When we get there it’ll seem like it whipped by in a blur, but I’m sure it’s going to feel VERY long while I’m in the middle of it.

I go back and forth almost daily on whether I’m almost done with school or have so much left that I won’t make it through. Sometimes it has as much to do with my assessment of the quality of the current assignment I’m working on as it does the amount of work left.

Here’s what’s left, once I turn in the technology assignments: Global Business which includes a group project and a large individual projects and a 12 day trip to India. Change Management and Project Management, a shorter module for which I don’t have the syllabus yet. Strategic Positioning, which includes the comprehensive final or capstone project which is the big deal to close out the program.

And that’s the class I start this Friday. I have seven chapters of reading in Dr. Weinzimmer’s book, The Wisdom of Failure, which thankfully is out in Kindle edition. We were supposed to have the Change Management module this weekend but that got moved (instructor schedule conflict) and so we’re starting the capstone class early. I’m kind of glad for that since it means that I can start wrapping my arms around that major piece earlier. It’s going to be a big project for Samaritan and I’m excited about that, but it’s also going to be a lot of work. Starting early means I can work on it on the plane between here and India and back.

It’s the home stretch, they say, but there’s still two big hills I can’t see over with Global Business and the capstone. Days are ticking down now and I’m going to make it. One foot in front of the other…

Leave a Reply

