Progressing

My spreadsheet tells me that we’re 75% through based on the calendar from August 2013 to this December. Less than 4 months remain now, and as of this weekend we’re a full year in. In addition to the international trip we have 13 days of class left from now through December 6th. As of last week I’ve now filled out the application for graduation and I have grades through the second summer session posted and all I’m waiting on is the last few classes and the comprehensive final.

It may be that I’m getting over being sick this weekend, but I’m tired. In our last two classes there’s a lot of research which has been the weakest part of my work so far…I just don’t get excited about research and my skills at it (if I had any) have waned. I depend on a lot of other people to do research for work, and I like to think I’m pretty good at digesting research and evaluating it, but gathering the actual data isn’t something I’ve enjoyed and so I haven’t honed those skills.

Three big classes remain. I’m currently feeling a little overwhelmed. There is so much more to be done than I can handle, and some of my reflex is to do nothing if I can’t do everything, and that’s just not a good response. There are concerns weighing on me in several spheres of my life and I’m just ready to be done.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not going to quit. I just need to carefully define what’s “good enough” in my responsibilities and which ones where “good enough” needs to be excellent instead. When we started, my wife and I said, “we can handle anything for 15 months.” At this point it’s hard to say “we can handle anything for 4 months.” Progressing. Not. Yet. Done.

2 thoughts on “Progressing

  1. Praying for you today, James. I feel much of the same in my own schoolwork lately. Thankful that the end is in sight for you (it is for me, too… just not as early as yours will be).

Leave a Reply

