I Hate School This Week

I’ve been enjoying, for the most part, school. I’m learning tons of real world valuable information that is helping me to improve at my job. In measurable, concrete ways.

This week I have what should be an easy group project for Developing Strategy. I feel like any time I look at the work that needs to be done (personally: 2.5 double-spaced pages of writing with a very specific format) that I’m hitting myself over the head with a blunt object.

It’s not the assignment or the class (though this class is a little less exciting than some of my courses). It’s that this assignment is getting all the blame in my psyche for the fact that I’m feeling burned out right now. I want to take a few months of school and regroup, but that’s just not an option.

It’s a Catch-22, of course.  If the program had been 3-6 months longer but with a significant break or two in the middle, I may have thought it was stretching it out too long.  Perhaps they’d have trouble recruiting students in that case.  And so (likely) they couldn’t design the program that way.  Finance and Marketing were both labor intensive, and nearly back to back with some other short courses mixed in.  Some of those short courses were reading intensive (Legal Issues, for example).

My hope is that next week, when I have a 3-day, 2-night getaway planned with Theresa that I can unplug completely and recharge.  I’ve already made plans to leave my iPhone and iPad and Laptop at home, depending on TC’s mobile devices for any communication needs with the children.  Yes, truly unplugging from work and school.  And by Friday morning when I get up for another session (via Skype) of Executive Coaching, my prayer is that all of my attitude issues with school will have faded away and I’ll be ready to hit the ground running when the classwork comes out for the following week.

So today I’m flying home from Dallas.  I’ll spend Friday and Saturday working on my sections of our group paper, and some of Monday evening.  And next Tuesday morning I’ll leave home and disconnect from all of life except my beautiful bride.  I’ll let you know how that goes.

3 thoughts on “I Hate School This Week

    • Thanks! I’m about done with the assignment for this class (team paper) and then I won’t have any schoolwork until the week of the 28th, and that will be prepping for class, not a graded assignment. Hoping this next week brings some refreshment. I appreciate all the folks praying for me. Over halfway done!

Leave a Reply

