The Trap of Worry

I stray into the sin of worry all too often.  Especially of late with the busyness of life and the struggles I was having with the Marketing class.  Last Wednesday Paul Tripp’s weekly post was on worry, and I found it helpful:

Here’s the problem with worry – like doubt, it’s God-forgetful. Doubt forgets God’s goodness, and worry forgets His presence.

Look at those four questions above: Why did this happen? I don’t know, but God does. Could I have prevented it? Maybe not, but God could have and chose not to. What will the outcome be? I don’t know, but God does. Do I have what it takes to make it through? No, but God is with me every step of the way.

You see, worry assumes that it’s only you vs. suffering. Worry finds a foothold in the lie that you’re alone in your suffering. Meanwhile, the Lord names Himself Immanuel – “God with us.”

via The Trap of Worry.

It’s worth a read.  I hope you find it as helpful as I did.

Leave a Reply

