Life…Don’t Talk to me about Life

There’s a part in the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (the radio program recordings are the way to go…trust me. Far superior to the books and the movies are NOT WORTH YOUR TIME) where Marvin, the paranoid android says “life…don’t talk to me about life.” Marvin was always having problems. He had a terrible pain in all the diodes down his left side.

Last week I posted that my life was crazy. Or rather that there’s a lot of it (life) in my life at the moment.

Friday night last week I stayed up late studying for the big midterm on Saturday. I waited for the last minute to cram because I made a calculated decision that I could pull at least half on a multiple choice text (75 questions) that was worth only 15% of the grade and thus still have a strong case for a B and not be out of the running for an A.

I went into class Saturday really tired, and managed to finish the 90 minute test in only 85 minutes. We graded them in the afternoon so I left with the knowledge of my score: the worst I’ve done on any single piece of classwork so far in the program. 59/75. 78%. My goal was to get at least 50 points (67%) so I exceeded it by 9. Yay me!

You probably remember that “rule” (pronounced “guiding principle”) related to multiple choice tests, right?

Never change an answer on the test when you review!

It’s not really true, right? If you go back through and find one that was wrong you just change it, don’t you?

NO NO NO NO!!!!!!!!!!1!1!!

I changed 7 answers. One I changed from wrong to right. Another from wrong answer B to wrong answer C. All five of the rest went from the right answer to the wrong one.

GAH!

So I lost essentially a percentage point off of my final grade (75 questions at 15% of grade made every 5 points worth 1% of the grade) by not following “the rule.”  Sigh.

But still, I am pleased with the results.  I will do better than that on the projects, hopefully, and a B in the course is secure, and an A is not outside the realm of possibility.

I didn’t post yesterday, of course.  Every moment left over this past weekend went to trying to catch up on rest.  I managed, with a 3 hour nap on Sunday, to get my seven day average up over 5 1/2 hours of sleep, which is awful.  If you figure my 7 hour/night goal that means I lost an entire night of sleep over the week.  And I was feeling it.

I’m feeling better today, and a bit more alert.  I may post again this week, or not, so don’t get your hopes up.  I leave Thursday for a conference where I’m speaking and haven’t finished my lecture yet.  And there’s lots of work to get done.  Friday the 4th (10 days from now) I have two projects due that total 60% of the grade for the course.  The written parts have another week I could tidy them up, but we go right to the next class that weekend and so I’m nervous about leaving even final edit for after the 4th.

I may write a post up about some of what jumped out at me during the midterm review from my notes, and likely I’ll have some time to vent/spill out about what I’m learning in the project during the week.  But if you don’t see anything here, it’s because I’m still enduring #deathbymarketing.

If you’re bold, leave a comment about your hardest academic experience to date for the other three readers!

Leave a Reply

