Tired Beginnings and Tired Endings

Last week was emotionally trying for me.  I’m not completely sure why yet, but I’m definitely feeling overwhelmed, and continue to going into this week.

280 days left until my last class.  I’m not sure how I will feel about that.  Relieved?  Exhausted?  Sad?  It’s hard to tell right now.

So I’ve got this marketing project working.  And it keeps going and going and going.  I’m guessing the final product will be in the neighborhood of 75-100 pages, single spaced with graphs.  So maybe 30,000 words, give or take 10,000.  I’m thinking through things differently than I have before, and that’s a great thing.  But I’m still feeling like I’m on the edge of failing miserably…and because it’s a team project it’s not just me on this.

So there’s 33 days until it’s due (other homework and a midterm in between, btw, plus I still have two more chapters for Legal Issues to read) and I can’t just do what comes naturally:  wait for the last minute and cram it in.  I have to keep plugging and talking to others about it and make it work.

I talked about products in a couple of previous posts (here and here) and here’s what I’ve compiled as the core product for Samaritan Ministries, based on the input from others at the office and some long thinking hours:

People generally join Samaritan Ministries (subscribe to our product) for one or more of the following benefits/reasons:

  • Peace of mind- “We need not fear financial devastation from large medical expenses.”
  • Community- “We help our brothers and sisters in Christ and connect with others of like mind.”
  • Compliance with the PPACA individual mandate- “We have to get something to avoid the fines, this is affordable.”
  • Theological position- “This allows us to practice our beliefs and maintain a position of integrity relating to various positions, for instance, being pro-life, trusting God rather than insurance, believing the church should care for its own.”

So that’s the beginning.  I’m tired now, and I’ll be tired on April 5th when it’s done.  And since my wife’s been tired too, I broke a surprise last night and shared with her my plan to whisk her away for 3 days and 2 nights during Spring break to celebrate our anniversary.  It’s tiring keeping a secret of that proportion, so I needed to let it go and surprise her early.

I’m sure I’ll have a lot more about the marketing project in this Thursday’s post.  And I bet I’ll even feel more energetic by then!  I’d have to.

Leave a Reply

