Progress!

As of today we are 35% through the EMBA program, based on class days (including the international trip of 12 days), and 39% through based on calendar days (293 days until December 6th, last day of classes).  It’s exciting to get this far (over 1/3 the way through) and the routine of classes and work has settled to be something resembling “normal.”  

This morning I had my February executive coaching session and, as usual, they asked about school.   It’s a nice place to be regarding school right now.  I turned in the last assignment for Finance class on Saturday, and I’m just starting the reading for the Marketing module which starts this weekend.  Stress is low, relief is high, and the end isn’t in sight, but there’s a glimmer out there that may just be the end of the tunnel.  

We talked about a couple of other items at coaching as well, one of which I was really looking forward to:  change management.  We have a module later in the program on it, but there’s so much going on at SMI right now that I wanted to at least scratch the surface of it with the coaches now.  They had a few good practices to hand me (which I will hand over to the rest of the leadership team this week) and some resources to turn to, as well as one big rock to avoid:  

Don’t confuse awareness of the need to change with acceptance of the change or desire to change. 

Yeah.  That’s a good thought for me.  Because for me, that’s all there is.  When I can see the need to change, I’m ready to change.  Very little inertia except convincing me it’s necessary.  But for a lot of people, maybe even half, just knowing that change is necessary doesn’t take away the fear or inertia or inspire a desire to pursue the change.  And I need to make sure I’m not being so pushy about change, personally, that it train-wrecks someone else.  Patience, conversation, communication, and ONLY THEN execution of the change.  Especially in a culture like we have at Samaritan.

Something to remember, and to work to change in myself.

So things are moving.  I”m doing well in class.  I’m learning more and more every day, and I’m looking forward to what lies ahead for school, work and family.  It’s going to be a good year.  

Leave a Reply

