12 Months of Thanksgiving (February)

As I wrote last month, thanksgiving is too important of a habit to hold to just one day or one month each year.  Giving thanks to God for the blessings in your life means that you both learn appreciation for what you’ve been given as well as gain a habit of recognizing where those gifts come from and your place in the universe.

Again in no particular order, some of what I’m thankful for this month:

  • I’m thankful for my dad.  Today is his birthday, in fact.  He turns 75.  We had a rough time during my teen years, something both of us get the blame for, but I’m thankful that now we can talk and communicate well, and that I’m always glad when he visits.  He knows lots of stuff about repairing houses that I wasn’t willing to learn when I was younger, but he’s always willing to help when I call with a problem here.   Happy birthday, Dad!
  • I’m thankful for sick days.  I don’t feel like I have time today to take the day off, but I did anyway.  I’m getting caught up on rest, and the world really does go on without me.  And so I’m posting later than normal on the blog, but I’m feeling much better for resting this morning.
  • I’m thankful for Moriah.  She’s grown into quite the young lady, and it’s exciting to see her entering adulthood with grace.  She turns 18 next week.  Where has all the time gone?  Moriah brings lots of emotion in the house…definitely a “burster” like her father.  She shares my love for music and many styles.  Her joy is louder and more visible than anyone else in the house, and it’s always evident when she’s upset as well.  She’s got a great mind and grows in truth and beauty every day.  I’m very thankful God brought her into our family.
  • I’m thankful for our massage chair.  Theresa found it on Craig’s List and we paid a fraction of its MSRP for it and it’s helpful to be able to study in the room while my muscles get a relax-fest.
  • I’m thankful for Elsie.  Elsie turns 14 this week, and is another accomplished musician in the family, despite our starting into the music lessons thing later than most families.   She loves her piano, and will soon be learning violin.  Elsie has a bright smile and was our first brown-eyed child (my wife wanted a house full of brown-eyes, but took until #4 for the first.  Take that, dominant genetics!).  She cares deeply about people and has a very tender heart.  It pains her deeply for anyone to be in trouble or to be wrong.

A lot of blessings in our home…and a lot to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

