Twelve Months of Thanksgiving (January)

I posted yesterday about the importance of giving thanks and being satisfied with the gifts you’ve been given.  Thanksgiving isn’t a holiday…it’s a lifestyle.

In light of that, and in light of my usual non-participation in the 30 days of thanksgiving tradition many of my blogger friends have displayed (not harping on the tradition, mind you, because any tradition of giving thanks is a good one!) I’m starting a new one.

Twelve Months of Thanksgiving.

(I know that was pretty anti-climactic considering it was the title of the blog post)

So here’s January’s thanksgiving list:

  • I am thankful for medical technology.  Next Wednesday my youngest son, Ezekiel, will be 1.  Last year on his day of birth, he died.  We don’t know how long his heart wasn’t beating but we know that for a time it wasn’t.  The medical technology that revived him and then sustained him for the trauma around his birth and that first week of life in the NICU is amazing when one considers it.  A decade ago he may have been stillborn and we’d be grieving the anniversary instead of celebrating.
  • I’m thankful for my wife’s thirst for knowledge and meaning.  It was her desire to make sense out of some itchy skin during the last weeks of pregnancy that led us to the testing and then diagnosis for ICP, which led to a rushed induction instead of waiting another week or more for TC to go into labor.  ICP produces a higher risk of still-birth, and we didn’t want to take any chances.  Her curiosity and research skills and a timely call to the midwife paved the way for some good decisions that, had we not known about the random itching and ICP, we wouldn’t have pursued.
  • I’m thankful for Ezekiel Jens Lansberry.  He’s 51 weeks old now (or 11 3/4 months, however you want to calculate it) and doing great.  He crawls around and gets into trouble just like any pre-toddler, and he’ll be walking and talking before we know it.  He was born on the 40th anniversary of Roe v Wade an his birth story is by far the most exciting of the nine blessings we have.  I think I may share it with you on his birthday next week!
  • I’m thankful for a warm house and radiated heat.  Last week the outside temperature got down as low as -15F with a -42F windchill, and though chilly inside, we were safe and sound and had at least one room in the house that never dropped below 70F.   This time of year giving thanks for warmth is a good thing.  (and hot showers as I mentioned yesterday!)
  • I’m thankful for Samaritan Ministries and my job. Samaritan just completed its fourth consecutive month of record growth.  From December 16-January 15 we had over 2500 new families join, and just recently passed the 30,000 family mark with over 100,000 members now.  I love having a job that I love for an organization that I’m passionate about.  And I’m thankful that the board and leadership are supporting me in my EMBA quest.  I’m going to be much better at my job for what I’ve learned already, and it’s easier knowing that this is something Samaritan is supporting.

God has been good to me and to my family.  I’m looking forward to this next year and to seeing what will happen.  The year has tons of possibility and God’s going to do amazing things and I’m thankful that I get to come along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

