Looking Forward to Looking Back

Hard does not equal bad.  Especially when one considers life from an eternal perspective.

Yesterday was a hard day.  2013 was a hard year.

It was a good year.  But I don’t want to do it again.

Looking back.  Some of the big rocks from this last year (in no particular order):

  • EJ was born.  On January 22 Ezekiel Jens Lansberry was born amidst an amazing trial.  I should probably post the whole story here at some point (I think you can find it on my Facebook notes) , but I’m not going to today.  Despite the rough beginning and the NICU stay and the major surgery for mama, both EJ and Theresa are today doing great.  We’re looking forward to celebrating his first birthday in a few weeks and he’s developing well for a little one.  Very thankful for the medical science and the great team that brought my wife and son through that very rough time.
  • My sister Cindy died.  In April I took a last minute trip to New Hampshire, and was there when my sister finally gave in to a long battle with cancer.  She was only 48 and left behind a devoted, loving husband and two grown sons.  My younger nephew graduated from high school only a couple of months after Cindy died.   She is missed, but the testimony of grace in her last few years was amazing to witness.  The blessing of going to her funeral and hearing those who were near to her talking about how she handled her illness will not be forgotten.  God used her illness in mighty ways in the lives of others.
  • We put a new roof on our house.  It needed it but I would have preferred to save for another year first, since it wasn’t leaking.  But the home insurer wouldn’t renew us without it and so it was.  Got a great deal and King Construction did a great job.
  • I went back to school.  Nuff said, since this is what the blog is all about right now.
  • Samaritan Ministries had a record year of growth in our membership.  We have over 30,000 households as members representing over 100,000 people.  We’re now in our 20th year of sharing needs (our 20th anniversary is in November).
  • I celebrated 18 years of marriage with my best friend.  I realized yesterday during one of the hard parts that there’s no human person who I value their opinion of me more than Theresa.   We’ll be going out to lunch today at One World (courtesy of my brother!) just because even holiday weeks need dates.  We’re already planning something special for when we hit 20 years after I graduate!
  • I lost a little weight.  I’m only halfway to my goal and have made zero progress since August, but I’m keeping off the 25 pounds I lost.
  • I kept a personal assistant for longer than I’ve ever had.  Most of the previous ones went on to other things (grad school, marriage, the pastorate) but some just didn’t gel well with me.  Bob has been great.  So glad to have him watching my back!

Yesterday, as I mentioned, was hard.  And so was the year.  And so I’m looking forward to looking back at it.  I’m thankful for it, but glad I don’t have to do it again.  On that note, here’s Over the Rhine singing just that:

I had planned to post about the coming year too, but I think that will have to wait for tomorrow’s post!

Happy New Year!

One thought on “Looking Forward to Looking Back

Leave a Reply

