An Encouraging Moment of Encouragement

It’s Christmas Eve!  And I’m going to Walmart!  Yes!

!!!

I hate shopping the last few days before Christmas and we do most of our shopping on line because that’s how we roll.  This year was crazy, and with the late board meeting set our family calendar equilibrium awry.  And so there’s a ton of stuff I have to get done today that should have been done earlier.  And you know what, that’s life.

In previous years, when things blow up at the last-minute I’ve kind of fallen apart.  I don’t like it when things are settled in my head and then they turn out very different from that.  But yesterday I was able to stop, pray, and keep my head.  I was able to be the voice of reason, “It doesn’t matter where we wish we were.  We have to get from where we are to where we need to be.  The other place is a red herring and a waste of energy.”  Usually somebody needs to say that to me.

It may have something to do with school, and learning to have a sense of perspective in life right now, but it’s mostly grace.  Lots of outpouring grace that God gives and leads to my sanctification.  And this Christmas, more than any one before, I’m thankful for that grace that comes because Jesus became a man and died for my sins.

So tomorrow as you wake up and open presents and enjoy the day away from the hustle and bustle of life, do this:  reflect on what worth you have in yourself, and what worth the King of Kings brought or could bring to your life.  Jesus became a person like you and me so that He could pave the way for you to be a person like He is, and that grace of sanctification which rewrites your life each day can be a huge blessing.

I know it is to me.  Merry Christmas!

P.S.  Before I started attending Bradley, I used to say (usually right after repeating something inane) that I had attended URU, the University of Redundancy University, of which I am an alumnus.  If that doesn’t explain the title, I don’t know what will.

Leave a Reply

