December Crazies

I know I’ve talked before about how crazy life can get around here. I’m told that December is a generally crazy month for everyone.

December has Christmas, of course. And we try to do it up and have several extended “family” celebrations from the 24th-26th, rounding out with a big brunch on the Feast of St. Stevens (or “Stevenmas” as we call it) on the 26th.

In addition, Clara’s birthday is in December. Oh, and I had class two weekends in a row. All of that adds up to quite a bit.

And that’s before you throw in the Samaritan Ministries Board meeting. It starts tomorrow. Two very long days of discussing big issues.

Don’t get me wrong…I love serving in my job. And the quarterly board meetings are among the best parts. It’s a great time for reflection and review. We get to look back at what God’s been doing with our organization and look forward to what we think is coming and put all the pieces together for the Board of Directors, 2/3 of whom are elected from the Samaritan Membership.

With school this year I’m feeling supremely unprepared for this meeting. So many things seem to hinge on every meeting, and this one is pivotal as we look into a terribly uncertain 2014. Health care in general is in disarray, and we need to have plans that are easily adaptable and yet firm enough that we can accomplish our goals and provide great service to our ever-growing membership.

So last night I crunched numbers for a presentation that will be part of the meeting on Friday. Communicating the issues effectively is crucial for the board to make good decisions. And that communication falls on my shoulders for the most part and the gravity of the issues we’re discussing is consciously present and weighing on me.

If you think of it today, pray for me. I have a lot of thoughts to put together and will likely be working on it into the evening again tonight. We are at a pivotal point in the history of Samaritan and I want to do this well. It’s a great chance to apply what I’ve been learning in school and to do what I’ve been called to do, but a mistake at this juncture could have far-reaching effects.

Have you ever had a point in your work where it felt like things mattered more than usual? What’s the story?

Leave a Reply

