Giving Thanks

A lot of my friends have been (some every year) filling my FB feed and blogs I read with daily thanks this month.  And it’s appropriate.  I have, heretofore, not participated in this tradition, but not because I don’t think it’s worthwhile.

I did not have class this past weekend, so there’s very little new on the school front, and so today, in no particular order I’m going to give my faithful, happy few, readers a glimpse into what I’m thankful for in particular this year:

  • I am thankful for my wife.  18 years together and it’s just the beginning for us.  We have had rough patches, especially early on, but I can’t imagine my life without her.  Every year it gets better and better in every way, and I am very glad that she continues to put up with me and my ways.
  • I am thankful for my children.  While all too often they are a reflecting pool of my own sinful habits, of late I have been able to catch more glimpses into their individual personalities and have gained more appreciation for them.  I am thankful that they all can turn to a better Father than me, and for the growth and expression I’m seeing in them as time goes on.
  • I’m thankful for medical technology.  I haven’t told the whole story of EJ’s birth here on the blog, but most of the current crop of readers know it already.  To look back at this past year and be able to see that blessing of his birth and life with such a traumatic beginning makes me thankful for discovering things like hypothermic treatment.
  • I’m thankful for jumper cables and a spare car.  It was cold yesterday and we really wanted to be at worship and the van didn’t start right  But a little jump from the Buick and we were on the road with not too much time lost.
  • I’m thankful for a roof over our heads.  After the tornado went through the area recently and hundreds of area residents are homeless, it’s good not to take God’s gift of shelter for granted.
  • I’m thankful for my job.  So many people I meet or get to know don’t have work that fulfills them or that excites them.  I’m thankful that in many ways I’m living my dream job right now and getting stretched every single day.  And not just the work, but the mission:  I love what we do and get to put effort into making the world a better place.
  • I’m thankful for my sister’s funeral.  I’m not thankful she’s gone (though I am thankful that I’m confident she’s with Jesus), but her funeral was a blessing to me…a glimpse into her life that I just didn’t have with the geographical distance between us.  I miss her, but to see how God had used her in her community during her last years was a huge gift.
  • I’m thankful for a rearranged bedroom.  Our room is small (the bigger bedrooms have children stacked in them), and we recently rearranged it and moved the bed up against a wall.  It’s less convenient to get out of bed (though my longsuffering wife took that side) for one of us, but we now have room for a chair so that I can work in my room without it being in bed.  Oh, and I’m thankful my wife found a fantastic deal on a massage recliner on Craig’s List!
  • I’m thankful for school.  Every weekend we have class I get to learn something new that stretches me as a manager/leader.  And I’m thankful for the new knowledge and the help it’s already been in my day job.  I’m thankful for the people I’m getting to know in school, and I’m thankful for the perspective I’m getting from it.
  • And I’m thankful for Jesus.  I have totally messed up my life, and it would still be really messed up were it not for Him.  I don’t deserve anyone paying the price for my sins, but God sent Him anyway.  As advent begins I’m thankful that there is a time to celebrate Him coming and becoming a man for the sake of His people.

There is so much to be thankful for…so much I and my family have received from God’s hand.  The Thanksgiving holiday is a nice time to focus on what you and I have been given, much of which is undeserved, and I hope you are able to find some time to give thanks to God during this season, whether or not you do it daily during November or every day of the year.

One thought on “Giving Thanks

  1. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving | Changing Horses Midstream

Leave a Reply

