Q & A: Your Questions?

I spoke at a conference last week in Denver. I love public speaking. I enjoy it and I have been told I am fairly good at it.

Certainly I have room to improve. I “wing it” far too much when more preparation would produce a better talk for my listeners. I don’t research enough to put that one thing in that might make the talk just enough better as to make a difference.

I like most to talk about things I know well. And my favorite part of talking to groups is Questions and Answers. Q & A.

Sure answering live questions is more stressful than delivering prepared paragraphs. But I love it. And here’s why:

There’s no part of public speaking where you can be more certain the audience is listening carefully and attentively than when you’re answering a burning question that hadn’t been covered yet in the talk.

And I love delivering what people want. I love that in that moment, your question, which you don’t know the answer to, is able to be given what it deserves: a response.

Q & A means that I don’t have to wonder “did I cover the material well enough so that everyone understood?” I know that I was able to answer the query or quandary.

We can do that here, too! This post exists for the singular purpose of you, my few, faithful, fearless readers deciding what I’m going to write about in the future. Leave a comment on this post with a question or a topic you’d like to see me cover and I’ll get it queued up, provided you don’t ask something where the only answer I have is “I don’t know” and I can’t fix that with a little research.

So what do you want to see here? What burning questions do you have about me, my life, my schooling, my work, or about the universe? (The answer to the last one is 42.)

4 thoughts on “Q & A: Your Questions?

  1. Do you believe you can “shift” your MBTI through specific study and training to develop areas that are not strengths with the goal of being more effective in your vocation or career goals? If so, what types of training/study would you recommend? I acknowledge of course that the MBTI is only a measuring tool and not the objective.

Leave a Reply

