Mailbox: the iApp

A few months ago, after a month long waiting list (it may be shorter now), I downloaded the Mailbox app for my iPhone 4S.  I was hooked instantly.

Fly through your email.

We redesigned the inbox to make email light, fast, and mobile-friendly. Quickly swipe messages to your archive or trash. Scan an entire conversation at once with chat-like organization. Snooze emails until later with the tap of a button.

It’s a whole new inbox.

Modern tech for an
ancient medium.

Designed 30 years ago, traditional email transmission is clunky and slow. To make delivery as fast as possible, Mailbox checks your email from the cloud, then delivers it to your phone securely. You can even get push notifications for new messages.

Here’s the pros:

  • Snooze, delete, or archive easily with the swipe of your thumb on the email.  This allows you to maintain #inboxzero at all times while preserving those emails you left in your inbox for a reason, but not for today.
  • When you acheive #inboxzero there’s a unique, daily picture that is displayed giving you an additional creative sense of satisfaction.
  • Easy to use and syncs seamlessly with Gmail.  Essentially creates a part time personal assistant for me with my personal email.
  • Currently the app is FREE.

Cons:

  • Only with Gmail.  I would love to be able to utilize the workflow I’ve acheived with my personal gmail address in my other email addresses.  I have some other ways I’m working towards #inboxzero but they’re much clunkier.  Really would love it to work with my Exchange emails accounts, but I’m going to guess that’s going to be a tough nut to crack, even if it becomes a paid, licensed software so security issues can be resolved.
  • Only with iOS.  I have been consdering going back to an Android device lately for a number of reasons (probably a future post), but right now you can only use it on iPhone and iPad.  Probably keeps me anchored to the iPhone for a while longer so I’ll be trying out the 5S instead when re-up comes this fall.  I’d love to have a web based app and/or Android option (especially for my Android anchored wife who would find the app really helpful).  I’m sure I have friends (and Apple) who think this isn’t at all a “con” but alas, I’m not as hooked on iOS as some of them are (probably more in that “other post in the future” I mentioned above).

It’s a great app.  If you’re using an iOS device and have a Gmail account, I’d recommend it highly.  If you’re using an iOS device and not using Gmail, it’s a good enough reason to move your personal email over, in my opinion, just for this app.

As always, comments are welcome, but only about the post and app…if you’re jonesing for the iOS vs. Android flame war, you’ll have to wait for [insert name of future post here] and then I’ll let the readers go at it with vigor.

Get the app HERE.

3 thoughts on “Mailbox: the iApp

  1. I used it initially, and I agree – it’s a really innovative and useful app. However, after a couple weeks I ended up going back to the ol’ standby: the iOS Mail App.

    My personal and work emails all go through Gmail, and I use Sparrow on my Macbook – so it worked for all my accounts. The trouble was that emails would come up in my Sparrow inbox (in front of me) way faster than they would on Mailbox – so I was constantly getting old notifications on my phone (relative: it was usually 5-10 min slow on notifications), even though I had already responded on my Macbook. And the reverse was also true: if I responded on my phone/archived/snoozed a message, it wouldn’t reflect it on Sparrow for several minutes (if ever, at times). So it felt kind of buggy… I think they want you to only use it on iOS. In that case, it would be amazing. But since I do WAY more emailing on my computer than on my phone, it just wasn’t for me.

    Of course, I’m certain I get far fewer emails than you do (I’ve seen your inbox!), so certainly what worked for me is unique to my own circumstances.

    btw – I’ve been enjoying your blog posts!

    • Thanks! And thanks for leaving a comment!

      I don’t leave gmail open on my browser on any of my computers, and the snooze feature is something use a ton. I refuse to let people think that I consistently reply immediately to email (though it happens on occasion) or to let it rule my life, so even my single gmail account I like using it this way. Obviously not for everyone, but I can tell you that it’s one of the chief reasons I’m hooked on iOS even though I have some reasons I’d like to migrate back to Android (later post I’m sure).

      • I should also clarify – I don’t have any notifications on my phone aside from texts and phone calls (not even unread item badge counts). So, honestly, that part made me interact *more* with email than I was originally – snoozed messages popping up, etc.

        I am interested to hear about your potential defection 😉 In all honesty, there are a few areas where I think Apple’s fallen behind, and others where they are still pretty great… I guess my investment in iOS apps in general will keep me on that platform for the foreseeable future.

Leave a Reply

